Allen Toussaint Documentary

The master has departed, but his genius and his music endure …

Note: the person who posted the documentary to Youtube “had to remove some music to avoid copyright infringement,” so a couple of brief sections occur without sound. Still, this documentary is not to be missed if you love music.

 

 

Written by Allen Toussaint and made famous by Lee Dorsey, THE GREATEST LOVE was recorded by Elvis Costello & Allen Toussaint along with The Crescent City Horns and The Imposters and released as a bonus track on the Japanese edition of the 2006 album, THE RIVER IN REVERSE.

 

The greatest love I ever loved
Was the love I had for you
The greatest wish I ever wished
Was when I wished that you love me too

But I found out that you were lying
When you said that you’d be mine
All that talk about break up, never, leave me never
It was the greatest love
It was the greatest love
But I still love you
I still love you

The greatest hurt I ever hurt
Was the hurt you put on me
It took so long to find out
That this love could never be

But I found out that you were lying
When you told me you’d be mine
All that talk about break up, never, leave me never
It was the greatest love
We had the greatest love
But I still love you
I still love you

Well I found out that you were lying
When you said that you’d be mine
All that talk about break up, never, leave me never
It was the greatest love
We had the greatest love
But I still love you
I still love you

(Greatest love)
I still love you
(Greatest love)
We had the greatest love
(Greatest love)
I still love you

Leave a Reply

