“Daughters Of The Dust” 20-Year Anniversary

Filmmaker Julie Dash’s “Daughters of the Dust” chronicles two fateful days in the lives of members of the Peazant family, descendants of enslaved Africans who reside on the Sea Islands near the South Carolina and Georgia coasts. The desires of members of the younger generation to leave their ancestral home in Ibo Landing and move to the mainland against the wishes of Nana, the family matriarch, sets the story in motion.

Dash’s script was full of memorable lines including these from the family matriarch, Nana Peazant (Cora Lee Day, 1914-1996):

I am the first and the last. I am the honored one and the scorned one. I am the whore and the holy one. I am the wife and the virgin. I am the barren one and many are my daughters. I am the silence that you can not understand. I am the utterance of my name.”

For more information about the anniversary see:

Celebrating Julie Dash’s “Daughters Of The Dust” 20-Year Anniversary > Shadow and Act | Cinema of the African Diaspora.

Leave a Reply

