Nkrumah & Du Bois

My wife Gwen and I arrived in Accra, Ghana Tuesday night (7/26) for the beginning of a two-week stay during which we will travel along the coast and to Tamale in the north. Wednesday morning we visited the Kwame Nkrumah Memorial Park, and the home and mausoleum of W.E.B. Du Bois. Standing with the ghosts of such monumental men made me pause and reflect on the cowardly sell-outs back home who masquerade as leaders. Lacking in intellect and courage, equally bereft of compassion and decency, they have mainly achieved their positions of power through treachery, perfidy, and blindly serving the interests of the wealthy elite while lining their own pockets in the process. Yet upon further reflection it is hard to decide which is worse: the corrupt politicians and pulpit pimps who exploit and mislead the masses, or the sheeple who trod blindly behind in their wake ready and willing to be shorn and slaughtered.

While my mental jury is still out weighing its decision, I will take a Sankofian look to the past to reconnect with the spirits of those fierce warriors for human rights and social justice who struggled relentlessly for the cause of liberation and Pan African unity. From their sterling examples of leadership and dedication, I hope to gather the strength and wisdom I need to prepare and sustain me for battles yet to come.

To their spirits I say: Ashé … To the people of the African Diaspora and our allies I say: A luta coninua …

Kwame Nkrumah Memorial

DuBois Mausoleum Entrance

Du Bois Grave

One thought on “Nkrumah & Du Bois

  1. Roxanne, I apologize for just now responding. We’ve been on the road in Ghana with no access to the internet. We visited Elmina and Cape Coast Castle over the weekend, and attended Panafest and Emancipation Day events. I plan to post some photos and information soon.

Leave a Reply

